Whatley Crescent drain works

As part of the works to construct the dive structure at Bayswater Junction, a section of a water drain situated within the rail corridor needs to be relocated. This requires some out of hours’ work and the temporary closure of a section of Whatley Crescent.

Most of the relocation works will take place within the rail corridor and rail reserve. Micro tunnelling will be used within these areas and, as it needs to be conducted under the current Midland Line, will be done during two rail shut downs from:

  • 3.30am Saturday 30 June to 5.30am Sunday 1 July
  • 3.30am Saturday 14 July to 5.30am Sunday 15 July.

Rail replacement buses will be in operation during this time.

 

Part closure of Whatley Crescent (subject to City of Bayswater approval)

The installation of one section of the new pipe runs from the rail reserve across Whatley Crescent to the drain’s outlet structure. Installation will involve the excavation of a six-metre deep trench across part of the road.

A 50m section of Whatley Crescent, between Anzac Street and Newton Street, will be closed from Thursday 14 June for approximately eight weeks. Residents will still be able to access their homes, however vehicle movement in the area will be restricted.

During the works:

  • general access to Whatley Crescent will not be possible via Newton Street.
  • access to Newton Street will be via Guildford Road only.
  • cyclists/pedestrians will be able to move through the area but must exercise caution near the construction area.
  • service vehicles (for example, rubbish collection) will be able to proceed under traffic control.

Whatley closure map

 

Out of hours’ work

 

The table below details the dates and activity required, in addition to normal working hours which are Monday to Saturday 7am to 7pm:

Dates and hours of works

Activity

Wednesday 20 June - Wednesday 1 August

Dewatering will require generators to
operate 24/7

Generators will be used to operate the dewatering pumps for main drain works

Sunday 10 June, Sunday 17 June, Sunday 24 June

Wednesday 27 June - Wednesday 4 July

Thursday 12 July - Wednesday 18 July

Mon - Sat (7pm - 7am) Sunday (9am - 7pm)

Micro tunnel installation of the new drain. This involves:

- a mini tunnel boring machine

- generators on Railway Parade

- 13t excavator (used as a small crane to lift in the pipe segments).

Minor rail works which will include the installation of sign posts and survey works within the rail corridor.

 

 

1.4m

diameter of TBM being used to bore drain

14 June

start date of temporary road closure

8 weeks

length of temporary closure